Programme: Level 6 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice

4 modules

What is it?

The Level 6 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice is a vocational programme. So it is a practical programme which mixes theory and practical learning.

It is also the final step to becoming a Licensed Conveyancer.

Where does it lead? 

After completing the Level 6 Diploma and (with as little as 1200 hours experience) you can apply to the Council for Licensed Conveyancers to become a Licensed Conveyancer. 

Who can apply? 

The Level 6 Diploma is equivalent to the final year of a degree.  To apply you should have completed the Level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice or equivalent. 

You don't have to currently work in a legal practice. 

What will I learn? 

During the programme you will learn how to deal with legal matters which arise from the transfer of ownership of land or property, as well as how to provide legal advice to buyers and sellers of property, lending institutions and other interested parties.  

In order to complete the Level 6 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice you will have to complete the following 3 units: 

    Although, we do recommend that the modules are taken in the above order, this is not essential. We recognise that students will have different levels of knowledge and experience and may wish to study the modules in a different order or at the same time.

    If you have previous legal qualifications you may qualify for an exemption for some of these modules. 

    How can I apply? 

    The application process couldn't be simpler. Just select the module (or package of modules) which you would like to pursue and proceed to our checkout process. 

    Once your application has been received by us, we will provide you with a user name and password so you can access our virtual learning environment (VLE). 

    Before you start on your chosen module, you will be required to complete an induction module. You can then start your studies at a time and pace which best suits you. 

    How long does it take?  

    Typically, the Level 6 Diploma takes between 18-24 months to complete but, depending on prior knowledge of the subject and your circumstances, the Level 6 Diploma could be completed in 12 months.  

    How are the modules assessed? 

    The modules are assessed by way of written examination which you can sit at any time. You can sit your exam in one of our examination centres (we have over 50 around the country) or, if you are working for a SRA or CLC regulated practice, you can sit your exam at your place of work. 

    This level 6 Diploma is awarded by SQA, the national awarding organisation.