For more details contact us on 01494 622792 / 01494 321888 or email

Programme: Level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice

What is it?

The Level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice is a vocational programme. So it is a practical programme which mixes theory and practical learning.

It is also the first step to becoming a Licensed Conveyancer.

Where does it lead? 

After completing the Level 4 Diploma, you can pursue a career as a conveyancing technician, and (with as little as six months of experience) you can apply to the Council for Licensed Conveyancers to become a Registered Conveyancing Technician. 

Alternatively, you could complete the Level 6 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice, and (with the requisite experience) you can apply to the Council for Licensed Conveyancers to become a Licensed Conveyancer.

Who can apply? 

Although the Level 4 Diploma is equivalent to a foundation degree and above, this is an entry-level programme. So it is suitable for candidates of all ages, with little or no legal experience, and this programme has no entry requirements.

You don't even have to currently work in legal practice. 

What will I learn? 

During the programme, you will learn how to deal with legal matters which arise from the transfer of ownership of land or property, as well as how to provide legal advice to buyers and sellers of property, lending institutions and other interested parties.  

To complete the Level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law and Practice, you will have to complete the following five units:

Although we recommend that the modules be taken in the above order, this is not essential. We recognise that students will have different levels of knowledge and experience and may wish to study the modules in a different order.

If you have previous legal qualifications, you may qualify for an exemption for some of these modules.  

How can I apply? 

The application process couldn't be simpler. Just select the module (or package of modules) which you would like to pursue and proceed to our checkout process or complete our Student Enrolment Form and send it to 

Once we have received your application, we will provide you with a username and password so you can access our virtual learning environment (VLE). 

Before starting your chosen module, you must complete an induction module. You can then start your studies at a time and pace which best suits you. 

How long does it take?  

Typically, the Level 4 Diploma takes between 12-18 months to complete but depending on prior knowledge of the subject and your circumstances, the Level 4 Diploma could be completed in 6 months. 

How are the modules assessed? 

The English Legal Systems, Law of Contract, Land Law and Standard Conveyancing Transactions modules are assessed by way of written assignment, which you can complete and submit through the VLE.

The Understanding Accounting Procedures for Conveyancing Transactions module is assessed by way of a written exam.

SQA, the national awarding organisation, awards this level 4 Diploma.


  • The English Legal System
  • Contract Law
  • Land Law
  • Standard Conveyancing Transactions
  • Understanding Accounting Procedures for Conveyancing/Probate Transactions
  • Level 4 Diploma in Conveyancing Law & Practice